top of page


(Photo Credit: Courtesy of CRB/CRS)

(Country Radio Hall of Fame member Charlie Monk (center) receives the Joe Talbot Award from CMA Chief Executive Officer Sarah Trahern and Townsquare Media SVP of Programming and CRS/CRB Board President Kurt Johnson.)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (February 19, 2021) – The Country Music Association has awarded Country Radio Hall of Fame member Charlie Monk with the Joe Talbot Award. He was honored Thursday, Feb. 18 during CRS 2021: The Virtual Experience. The Joe Talbot Award recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions to the preservation and advancement of Country Music’s values and traditions. View a video of the surprise presentation here. "Joe is one of my favorite people in the entire world,” said Monk. “I can’t believe I might be lost for words, but I am truly honored because of this man. Probably anything that I might have accomplished, he touched it at some point. His whole family are friends and I am truly honored.” “If you know Charlie, you know why he’s called the Mayor of Music Row,” said CMA Chief Executive Officer Sarah Trahern. “His tireless passion for Country Music and everything our industry represents is contagious. He has always been a champion of moving this genre forward.” With a career that spans broadcast and publishing, he has rallied behind Country Music’s brightest stars. In 1969, Monk joined industry friends as one of the founders of Country Radio Seminar. He continues to promote the genre as a longtime host of “Prime Country” and “Willie’s Roadhouse” on SiriusXM. To date, Monk is the only person who has attended every CRS since its inception. Monk is the ninth recipient of this award since it was first presented in 2001. Prior recipients include Janette Carter, Kitty Moon Emery, Merle Haggard, Alan Jackson, George Jones, Louise Scruggs, Marty Stuart and Joe Talbot.


bottom of page