top of page


Available on vinyl for the first time in nearly four decades.  CD/Digital contains 13 bonus tracks, five of which are unreleased.

AUSTIN, Texas — Uncle Walt’s Band has always been a hidden gem. They were well known on the Austin music scene of the ’70s and ’80s in their adopted home, and If you knew them you really loved them, but if you didn’t get one of their albums from a band member’s trunk after a gig you didn’t have anything to tide you over until their next show. And if you weren’t in the right place at the right time then you may have never heard them at all.

Last year part of that problem was remedied when, decades past the band’s active career, Anthology: Those Boys From Carolina, They Sure Enough Could Sing was released. The success of Uncle Walt’s Band’s reintroduction led to an expanded reissue of their eponymous 1975 debut album. Yet also in their Austin heyday the band made another independent album, 1980’s revelatory An American in Texas.

An American in Texas returns nearly 40 years after its initial release, this time on LP, CD and Digital formats via Omnivore Recordings on November 1, 2019. The original 12-track vinyl is complemented by an expanded 25-track CD containing eight tracks from UWB’s cassette-only release Six • Twenty Six • Seventy Nine, plus five previously unissued live cuts and studio tracks.

Packaging contains photos, ephemera and new liner notes from Austin writer Rush K Evans III, which trace the UWB story and the reunion that resulted in this classic piece of Americana — from a time when no one had even used the word. It was just great music.

According to Evans in the liner notes: “An American in Texas stands not only as an important mile marker in Americana history, but also as a defining moment for the band itself, the culmination of their individual development as artists, fully realized in this collaborative masterpiece. Here they are reunited, greater together for their journeys alone, Uncle Walt’s Band. Three Americans in Texas.”

Take a trip back to a special time, brought up to date, with Uncle Walt’s Band’s An American in Texas.

Track Listing:

1. As The Crow Flies 

2. You Keep Me Holding On 

3. Sad As It Seems 

4. Last One To Know 

5. Green Tree 

6. At Least Two Ways 

7. Bluebird 

8. Too Far To Fall 

9. An American In Texas 

10. Don’t You Know 

11. Walking Angel 

12. Deeper Than Love 

Bonus Tracks 

13. For The First Time 

14. Stay With The One Who You Loves You 

15. Open Up Your Heart 

16. Hard To Bear 

17. Shine On 

18. To Make You Believe 

19. All I Need Is You 

20. Lean On Your Mind 

21. Situé (Live)* 

22. Outside Looking Out (Live)* 

23. You Touch My Heart (Live)* 

24. Seems I Can’t Forget (Live)* 

25. She’ll Be There

(Studio Version With Strings)* 

* Previously Unissued

LP Consists of Tracks 1–12 


bottom of page